jump to navigation

The asset of time September 3, 2010

Posted by templeofthecloud in Application Hosting, Business Continuity, Business Continuity Best Practices, Carrier Neutral Datacenter, Cloud Computing, Colocation, Compliance Assistance, Data Center, Data Center Migration, Data Center Relocation, Datacenter, Datacenter commissioning, Datacenter solutions, Government Cloud Computing, Green datacenter, Hosting, IaaS, Infrastructure as a Service, PaaS, Platform as a Service, SaaS, Software as a Service, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The data center business is serious business, run by serious people who are very good at what they do. To be in the data center business, you must know not only technology, you need to understand business process compliance, business continuity; and all of the latest trends like cloud computing with all of its variants: Infrastructure as a Service, Platform as a Service, Software as a Service. Ya feel me?

This isn’t the “interwebs iz serious business” serious. This isn’t re-racking the big kitty while dreaming of being a luscious rock star serious. It takes a lot of time to know how to take a customer through a data center build, migration, keep a “cloud” running, give 99.999% SLA, etc. You get the point. So therefor it would not be a logical step to say that time is an extremely valuable asset.

An intelligent person, or one who purports to be intelligent, and a professional should understand the value of time. Right?

I had an experience recently where I was asked for a dialog by a person, who purports to be highly educated and skilled in his trade, for pricing and solution assistance on a hosting arrangement. This person asked me for rack pricing, power, and 100Mb of un-metered bandwidth. Not a problem. Being a professional, I took this request seriously, and responded in an efficient and professional manner.

This person responded back by telling me that he’d already had an offer on the table for rates half of what I was offering. Okay, fine, I will work with that, I am not going to lose a deal on price. This has never been an issue when dealing with people on the square. We match capability’s to the customers requirements and we come up with a fair and square deal. We provide excellent data center solutions, and excellent customer service before, during and after the sales process.

After I go a LONG way to re-rack my prices, I respond to this prospective customer, assuming that I could expect the typical professional dialog that is fairly common in the data center industry. Instead, this person responds back and tells me that the actual deal that he has on the table was actually $600 for racks, power and 100Mb of Internet. Now let me tell you, the number he gave devoid of real world, market driven pricing. It was a fantasy for what he was asking for. I felt like I should get this guy linked up with Oliver Stone to create a new batch of thematic opulence based upon a Jack Bauer, Chuck Norris’esque geek thriller. It was that silly.

Now, at this point I feel like I got hit in the head with a sack of stupid; and I realized that lack of professionalism had a name. And that name was attached to the person sending me these emails. My time had been wasted. The time of one of my co-workers was wasted. I responded back to this person and said that I highly recommend he take that deal because the offeror is going to lose money on that deal.

The response that I received in return was that this person was a “savvy technologist” and that he knows what he is doing. The manner it was written was if it’s author had a PhD in ADHD.

Time is an incredibly precious asset valued by serious, and professional people. Especially the people in the data center industry. You want help with cloud computing, Infrastructure as a Service, application hosting, data center migration, compliance? Just say the word, but know that you are going to get someone using up the asset of time, and treating you 100% serious and professional. People spend their time like money to learn about our stock in trade. Any prospective customer would be well advised to spend some of that currency on themselves and know what you’re asking for, and what is going to go into having that solution provided to you.

Trade a value for a value. Lets all respect each others time and professionalism shall we?

Mmkay?

Rant over. I’m going to put my soap box back under the desk.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

